Order of the Dragon Founded – 1408

Order of the Dragon Founded – 1408

The Order initially had 21 members, all of them high nobility. Vlad Tepes, also known as Dracula, and English king Henry V were members of the order.

On this day the Croatian-Hungarian king Sigismund founded the knightly Order of the Dragon. The Order initially numbered 21 men, all of them high nobility. Among the members was the Croatian Ban Count Herman of Celje, who was the father of Sigismund’s wife Queen Barbara of Celje. The Herzog (Duke) of Split Hrvoje Vukčić Hrvatinić and Wallachian ruler Vlad Tepes, also known as Dracula later also became members of the Order. It is interesting that Dracula was named after the Order of the Dragon, because Drac in Romanian means dragon. English king Henry V, known for his conquest of France after his triumph at the Battle of Agincourt, was also a member of the order, and this is a testament to its reputation.

Facebook Comments Box

Related posts