Iceland became an independent republic (1944)

Iceland became an independent republic (1944)

On June 17, 1944, Iceland became an independent republic, severing its former personal union with Denmark. Namely, although Iceland functioned as an independent state since 1918, it shared a monarch, Denmark X. from the Schleswig-Holstein-Sonderburg-Glücksburg dynasty, with Denmark until 1944. This ruler of Iceland was called Christian X., and was the only person in history to hold the title of King of Iceland. After the referendum on the abolition of the monarchy, a republic was solemnly proclaimed in Iceland, and Christian X ceased to be king (of course, he still remained king of Denmark).

The proclamation of the republic took place at the famous historic site of Thingvellir, the historic seat of the Icelandic parliament. It is one of the most historically important and touristically interesting locations in Iceland, located about 35 kilometers northeast of Reykyavik, near the volcanic area. Sveinn Björnsson was elected the first president of Iceland, who then remained in office as head of state until seven and a half years later (1952). In Iceland, even today, there is no limit to the number of mandates that can be held by the president of the republic, which has led to all presidents after Björnsson holding office for at least 12 years.

Facebook Comments Box

Related posts