Founded European Football Organization – UEFA – 1954

Founded European Football Organization – UEFA – 1954

Ebbe Schwartz from Denmark was elected the first president. The Union of European Football Associations (UEFA), as the supreme body of European football, was founded on 15 June 1954. The founding took place in Basel, Switzerland, with Ebbe Schwartz of Denmark elected the first president and the legendary Henri Delaunay the first secretary general. Delaunay is known for giving the idea of holding the European Football Championship.

That is why the trophy won by European champions is called the Delaunay Cup in his honor today. By the way, the trophy weighs about 8 kilograms and is 60 centimeters high, and it is made of real silver. Originally, UEFA had 25 members, and to date the membership has grown to 55, with Kosovo being the last member. UEFA is headquartered today in the small town of Nyon in Switzerland.

Facebook Comments

Related posts