1997: Ottawa Treaty Bans Anti-Personnel Mines

1997: Ottawa Treaty Bans Anti-Personnel Mines
Photo Credit To http://www.novagradiska.com/site/v2/default.php?ngdefault=ng-central.php&ngnovosti=news-id.php&id=1079546

Story Highlights

  • historical event: The Ottawa Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention commemorates its anniversary on this day. Many world powers, such as the U.S., Russia, China, and India did not sign the Treaty.

On this day falls the anniversary of the signing of the Convention on the Prohibition of the Use, Stockpiling, Production, and Transfer of Anti-Personnel Mines and on their Destruction. The convention was signed by 122 states in the Canadian capital of Ottawa. States party to the Treaty are committed to destroy their stockpile of antipersonnel mines within four years and to clear the minefields within ten years, with the possibility of extension upon request.

To date, the number of signatories has increased to 162. Interestingly, 35 countries of the world have not yet signed the Convention, including the United States, Russia, China, India, Israel, and both Koreas. Thus, the largest producers of antipersonnel mines have not signed the Convention, nor do they intend to do so.

Facebook Comments Box

Related posts